Hallelujah

by rrunthegun

Hallelujah
By Jeff Buckley
 
 Well I heard there was a secret chord
 that David played and it pleased the Lord
 But you don't really care for music, do you?
 Well it goes like this:
 The fourth, the fifth,
 The minor fall and the major lift
 The baffled king composing Hallelujah
 
 Hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah...
 
 Your faith was strong but you needed proof
 You saw her bathing on the roof
 Her beauty and the moonlight overthrew you
 She tied you to her kitchen chair
 She broke your throne and she cut your hair
 And from your lips she drew the Hallelujah
 
 Hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah...
 
 Baby I've been here before
 I've seen this room and I've walked this floor (you know)
 I used to live alone before I knew you
 And I've seen your flag on the marble arch
 and love is not a victory march
 It's a cold and it's a broken Hallelujah
 
 Hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah...
 
 there was a time when you let me know
 What's really going on below
 But now you never show that to me, do you?
 But remember when I moved in you
 And the holy dove was moving too
 And every breath we drew was Hallelujah
 
 Hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah...
 
 Maybe there's a God above
 But all I've ever learned from love
 Was how to shoot somebody who outdrew you
 And it's not a cry that you hear at night
 It's not somebody who's seen the light
 It's a cold and it's a broken Hallelujah
 
 Hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah...
 Hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah...
 Hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah
 Hallelujah, hallelujah
